top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts

Self Portrait Project


Is art subjective or objective? [To what extent does a work of art depend on the artists point of view?] [To what extent does a work of art depend on the viewer's point of view?]

This question dawned on me a couple years ago after becoming weirdly obsessed with philosophy. I questioned what, a reality, or truth would be for so many different people with so many different ideas and perspectives on this weird thing we call life. When I create a piece of art, I have to accept that my meaning will always be both silmultaneously connected with the way that other people percieve it, and also completely seperate at the same time. Of course, when I look at my own artwork, I am filled with all these thoughts and themes and deeper meaning that I have secretly sewed into the layers, or the pages, or the chords I write to songs. People can pick up on the emotion in my art, but the way they interpret what it means changes the way they absorb it and relate to it. I know that I backed myself into a corner asking myself this quesiton becasue every time I consider it I am unable to fully come to a "true" answer. To me, art is so much more than my specific point of view, it is something incorporated into almost every aspect of life around me. Maybe I'm crazy, or am wearing wonderful sunglasses that let me absorb my life through art, but at least to me, art isn't subjective. Then again, go ask someone else ;)

What problem solving skills are emplyed in making visual reflections of self?

In order to create visual representations of self you must look deeper than just your own physical characterics. Because I firmly believe in posing deeper questions and exposing different subtle message when I create art, it wasn't just about doing what looks nice. I had to do a little soul surfing through a bunch of different emotions and ideas I think of when I come up with a little ominous cloud of "self". I created these self portraits when I decided to focus on the question of how I've changed as a person over the year. I chose to depict myself incorperated into plants because I feel like I'm slowly getting to know myself and the things I love, to me, plants are very representative with a slow, beautiful, and natural growth. By using problemsolving skills like analyzing who I really am, I was able to create a visual reflection of myself.


Archive
bottom of page